Untitled

And still the darkness waits for me,

As I know it will…

And ever more avariciously still,

As it senses my journey comes closer to fruition.

I know in my heart it is a given

That I can never entirely banish

This spectre of the night,

It will always be beside me, as it needs to be.

Just as surely as the sunniest of summer’s mornings

Or the broadest of smiles on a lover’s face

Can make your heart soar,

As a counterpoint in the navigation

Of all that’s possible in life.

All that one would ever want to reach out for,

Whether driven by angels or demons…

So I choose to condemn it

To wait on the sidelines forever.

And as an irrelevance, a meaningless shadow,

A token silhouette to all my blessings.

Like the soft dusting of fallen snow on hollow bones,

On the already broken, spilt corpse

Of souls long since departed.

Strengthened by the certainty

That the light I cherish and hold dear within

Will instead keep me safe and warm,

Till my own time comes….

 

© Scott Hastie 2012. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

