Donuts

I made excuses to be near him
picked up paperclips near his desk
loudly announced a donut run
my treat for the office, for him. Later

I follow his car nearly all the way
home, stay right on his bumper
smile at his rear view mirror. Turn just at the last minute
right before the cul-de-sac
park around the corner and waited.

it’s getting  ridiculous, but I
don’t know where to go from here
how to get past “hello”
and a “good morning” smile.

I spent all night watching him sleep
pressed against the skylight, my hands leaving
faint outlines of sweat on the glass
fumbling for words.

Leave a Reply

