Whatever

I do not believe in whatever

but I do believe the moon was full

the night I was born

in Brooklyn. I believe that

when Mami pushed me out

not only her blood went splat

on a white wall and on a

nurse’s green uniform

(as she likes to remind me)

but also at that moment

(as I like to remind her)

I believe Sagittarius was

rising, galloping from the east

like a fast horse and dashing

forward like a released arrow.

I don’t believe in whatever

but I do believe the sun

was shining on Gemini

at 9:25 PM on that day

and when I can’t make up my mind

about something today

I believe that’s because

the sun and the moon were

opposing each other back then.

I don’t believe in whatever

but I believe that because

I was born on May 25, 1964

Venus conjuncts my North Node.

And when night upon night

I still believe I will love

and be loved by someone

I believe that’s because the

horns of Taurus pierced

at my cusp.

I don’t believe in whatever

but when my reveries take me

on a foreign dream where I

wear a green sari and a ruby

on my forehead, I believe

that’s because Jupiter and Mars

were promenading the skies and

they crossed each other at the hour

of my birth.

I don’t believe in whatever

but I do believe I oversleep

and don’t make my bed once I’m up

thanks to a grand cross that positioned

itself at that split second

I popped out from a woman’s vientre.

I also believe because Venus

was seduced by Cancer on my birth date

I began crying in my mother’s womb.

Irene Pérez

5 thoughts on “Whatever

  1. dsolimar01@yahoo.com says:

    I enjoyed your poem, interesting.

  2. magic! thank you for sharing…

  3. Michelle Lopez says:

    beautiful my partner..you are amazing

Leave a Reply

